Wing Commander Problem

Ripperian

Spaceman
Hi, I'm new here.

I Started to play Wing Commander in 2006. :)D
I played occasionally but I started playing right a few days ago.

I am in McAuliffe 1 and I can't land on Tiger's Claw!

What happens?

I request the landing, the request is granted and the sequence of landing never
appears.

I hit the Tiger's Claw, and I move away, take distance, return and I hit it again.

maybe this is a knowing bug but I do not know.

Yes, I'm rare for being play to this game... ;)
Salutes!

Slowing down is good but you have to make sure that you approach the Tiger's Claw from the front section. (I.E position your approach so that you were actually going to land your ship on the Claw's runway). Again make sure you get landing clearance and then approach somewhat slowly (100KPS) should be fine.

ok, I will try that...

And yes I decelerated, I was going to 9 kps in a moment ... I even parked myself to 0 kps next to the big ship.

thanks for the help.

Speed doesn't matter, approach does. You need to position yourself so the carrier looks like the view in the upper left hand of this picture:

wc1bengal4.gif

Last edited by a moderator:
The reason this might seem like a bug to some people is that the first mission or two automatically dumps you out of autopilot from your final mission nav point directly aimed at the Claw's launch deck. And when you're lining up to make the Claw look like loaf's picture, don't get too close until you're ready to land. You can kill yourself bumping a corner if you've taken some damage in the mission already.

he did not want to return.

But I feel a little guilty because he was damaged and two enemies went for him.
And I kill my enemy relatively fast. But Paladin was far and when I was
approaching. I saw they kill him. It was traumatic.

Anyway don't worry, I take it as it is, a game. Only that I like to get into the history.