Wing Commander 3 on xp with dosbox prob

S

SoNiC

hi,
yes yes yes im a newb, i have wing commander 3 heart of the tiger for the pc, i got it with my old pc and well it just about ran ok on it, i have a new one now and recently got the urge to play WC3.
I tried a normal game install but the game just ran slow, i then cam across this website and forum (which i must say is pretty cool and ya all seem to know ya stuff) and so i thought with the tutorial i would be able to run my WC3........but i wasnt and yea once again im a noob, not to computers but to emulation and DOSbox...

my problem is i have no idea how to get WC3 working on my comp.
These are my specs, hope this helps:

AMD Athlone 2200xp @ 1808Mhz
partitioned 120GB HDD
Windows XP SP2 up to date installed on D:
Windows 98SE on C: not up to date
1 Gig fo RAM (2x512's)
ATI AIW 9800 Pro 128mb Gfx card
All latest drivers installed incl catalyst

i really wanna get this old game working again, its a classic in my opinion of the mid 90's

WC3 is pretty demanding on DOSBox and your computer, but it should be playable for you. The key is opening your dosbox.conf file and changing core=normal to core=dynamic. I'd set about 12-15,000 cycles or so. You might have to lower some engine detail to play smoothly on a 1.8 GHz computer. Make sure you reset the core to normal if you're going to play most other games in DOSBox later.

yup ok done that but the thing is im unsure how to START the game, as in boot it up using DOSbox, i have the original CD and the cd drive is E: but i also went and made an image of the game and so i can mount it on virtual drive J:

so erm what command do i err use to like umm play it?

i dont know how to switch to the Cd drive in dosbox, i have no idea whatsoever and i tried what you said but to no avail....

im totally new to the program and i find the readme unhelpful in my circumstance.