Total newbie - help with Priv (original)

If you have Win98 (whatever edition), you have autoexec.bat and config.sys and dosstart.bat, period. Maybe you have set the folders to not show hidden/system files? You see, the computer will have some difficulty booting up without those files. autoexec and config are in C:\ and dosstart is in C:\windows.

<<If you have Win98 (whatever edition), you have autoexec.bat and config.sys and dosstart.bat, period. Maybe you have set the folders to not show hidden/system files? You see, the computer will have some difficulty booting up without those files. >>

I figured that, too. OK - how to show this config.sys file? Anybody?

If you have Win98 (whatever edition), you have autoexec.bat and config.sys and dosstart.bat, period. Maybe you have set the folders to not show hidden/system files? You see, the computer will have some difficulty booting up without those files. autoexec and config are in C:\ and dosstart is in C:\windows.

not so, 98 does not have dosstart.bat,
and only creates a autoexec.bat and config.sys if u have hardware that requires "real mode" drivers. ie, sound

OK - how to show this config.sys file? Anybody?

open explorer, goto C:, open "tools/folder options"
then goto view, select "Show hidden files and folders"
scroll down, uncheck "Hide protected operating systems files"
click "apply"
then "ok"
and then if u have autoexec.bat and config.sys, they will be in "C:/"

yakitori, you didn't state what sound card you have. If you can't find the dosstart.bat that o'kay. Happy, wrong about the dosstart.bat. Win9x will only create this file if it's have DOS drivers that can be place in it. No DOS drivers, no dosstart.bat.

This is becoming more common. Cheap PCs are being built to run in windows only. Manufactors don't install DOS drivers. I know this from experence.