Total newbie - help with Priv (original)

yakitori

Spaceman
Tried to create bootdisk as per game install instructions - followed instructs - in DOS just get a message "can't find CD", and "JEMM unloaded". (Yes, the CD is in the drive and bootdisk is in too).I guess DOS was not made for ijits like me?
Win 98, PII, what else do you need to know?
Checked the other threads here, but they make about as much sense as the wife's credit card statements.....................

Help.....

BTW, attemped to install without soundcard or voice (as this is my work machine w/o speakers).

Try adding something like MSCDEX to your autoexec, and Config.sys?

I don't have my Config in front of me, but it's something like

[Config.sys]
DEVICE=C:\DOS\OAKCDROM.SYS /D:CDROM

[Autoexec.bat]
C:\DOS\MSCDEX.EXE /D:CDROM /L:<CD Drive Letter>

Post your Autoexec.bat, Config.sys and tell me what sound card you have, and i'll be happy to help you as much as i can. There are other Amazingly helpfull people here who will also help you, but the requested files are a nesesity.

Also, try going to the CD drive (ex d: ) and looking at the directory, (type dir) then try loading priv. it worked for me.

Post your Autoexec.bat, Config.sys and tell me what sound card you have, and i'll be

Haltie.

And how do I find these out?

<<Post your Autoexec.bat, Config.sys and tell me what sound card you have, and i'll be happy to help you as much as i can. >>

Thx

Open a little program called Notepad.

>> Programs >> Accessories >> Notepad

Then, File > Open > C:\autoexec.bat
Copy that entire file into here.

THEN, before submitting the post,
File > Open > C:\config.sys
(If you're asked to save changes, click NO)
Copy THAT entire file into here.

Then, post. :)

Anagram

Here's the Auto Exec result

PATH=%PATH%;"C:\Program Files\Mts"

OK we could not locate any config.sys type files

What now?

I used to play Priv quite happily on a mate's old 486 7 odd years ago - but now...............???

Anagram (config.sys)