starlancer - problems

tazman

Spaceman
I 'm having some problems with starlancer and I can't understand why. I've played most of the WC games and normally play on ACE or Hard level and don't have too many problems. I'm not the greatest gamer in the world but I'm not incompentant.. I'm average.

I started playing Starlancer on easy level.

The first missions went fine.. I got promoted twice and received an awards then things started to go wrong...

I had to take out a capital ship called the Ramases and another one.

I take out the Ramases sheild generator and it's turrets and the engines but however fast I do it my own capital ship has to jump out and lose the mission... but it gets worse.

The next mission is to take out another capital ship and the same thing happens.. however fast I take out the sheild generator, turrets and engines I fail it.

But it gets worse.. in the next mission I finish off some fighters and I'm asked to go and take out the shield generator of another ship. But there's nothing around at all.. no enemies, no capital ship.. nothing at all and I can't jump. After about a minute I'm told the ship has escaped and I fail the mission, including part of the mission which I succesfully did (which was defending some escape pods). I'm then allowed to jump.

The next mission (I think)I have to take out this asteroid base. I'm about half way through the mission and some fighters jump in. I'm told to protect Bravo wing at all costs. I take out 5 of the 6 fighters in about 30 seconds but I'm told I fail the mission and never get the chance to go after the asteriod base (because I've lost Bravo wing)

If I'm doing things too slowly then this seems bizzare because I'm really taking these things out fairly fast (much faster than I used to take out stuff in WC3, WC4 and WCP).

If this was happening on HARD level then I would understand.. but it's the EASY level.

Am I going mad?