Ship Colors

knight26

Spaceman
Okay, now first let me explain that while I am a newbie to these forums I have been with Wing Commander a long time. I still have the magazine I first a Wing Commander in, a very old issue of PC World advertising Wing Commander back in 1990. I have played every game since and while I may not know as much as Loaf I do know alot about the series. I even read a lot of books, but stopped after the WC4 book due to time constraints, heck I still have all the original games and books, and I do mean all of them.

Now onto the reason for this post. I have been reading the forum for some time. I have notices a large number of debates concerning various topics and have drawn certain conclusions, perhaps others may back me up and come to the same conclusion. The first theory has to do with the color scheme of the WIng Commander Fighters.

Game: Main Color: Starting Sector:
Wing 1 Green Vega
Wing 2 Green Enigma
Privateer Grey Gemini
Wing3 Blue/Grey Epsilon
Wing 4 (confed) Blue/Grey Sol
WC4 BW Red Epsilon (Border Worlds)
Prophecy Grey Kilrah

Now my theory regarding the color schemes has to do with sector commands or commanding admirals.

In Wing 1 you were assigned to the Vega fleet under Tolwyn (Secret Missions Manuals) and almost all the ships had a distinct Green color scheme. The most notable that did not were the Scimitar and the Drayman. These are easily explained, transports do not always belong to a fleet so the draymans could easily be a different color. The Scimitars are older fighters, much older, probably predating the Kilrathi war and most likely wear the color scheme of an older fleet or sector command.