Shakespeare- Nemesis comments welcome :D

Mjr. Whoopass

<FONT color=lightblue><B>I was going to say someth
Nemesis said:
Almost makes me want to start an “off-topic” thread on Shakespeare. Been wanting to tear that guy down for years. Romeo and Juliet both die? Outrageous!
Although Nemesis was being sarcastic when he stated this, it gave me an idea to start this probably short lived thread. The purpose is threefold: 1) Mainly to vent my frustration at having to sing an art song in college that was a musical setting to a Shakespeare poem that seemed utterly stupid, and was an embarassment to sing. 2) An inside joke for those who've visited the quoted thread on the WC topic section. 3) Curious to see what glowing reviews LeHah might have for this thread.

I was a freshman in college when my voice instructor chose this song for me, and I didn't yet have the guts to tell him I hated it. Could anyone but Shakespeare get away with writing such nonsense and having it made into a song? I'm not making a statement about his works as a whole, just saying that this particular poem of his annoys the **** out of me. Any jabs or praises for Shakespeare are welcome.
Shakespeare said:
When that I was and a little tiny boy
~

~When that I was and a little tiny boy,
With hey, ho, the wind and the rain,
A foolish thing was but a toy,
For the rain it raineth every day.
What the !?@#?

That's not a 'stand alone' song -- it's what the clown sings at the end of Twelfth Night. It's hard (and probably pointless) to criticize it outside the context of the play...

It's like making fun of Shakespeare for the play within a play in A Midsummer Night's Dream. The characters delivering the lines are supposed to appear simple minded. The clown in Twelfth Night doesn't even get to speak in pentameter.

Bandit LOAF said:
That's not a 'stand alone' song -- it's what the clown sings at the end of Twelfth Night. It's hard (and probably pointless) to criticize it outside the context of the play...