Newbie here (Not sure if this is general or tech question)

KaiOsprey

Spaceman
Hello folks, I am new to the forum. I found this place the other day while day dreaming about the good old days of playing Wing Commander in my youth. Imagine how pleasantly surprised I was to find this place, and to see so many of the old school games still out and about.

I have a quick question, and I hope this does not violate any rules...and I hope this is not something I missed while skimming the forum. If this is against the rules, please forgive me and remove this post.

I noticed on the main page that one can play Armada and Prophecy online in multiplayer mode. I read somewhere else on the board that the Secret Operations downloads are no longer available. My question is thus...Can one play multiplayer Prophecy without the "Gold" addition? Should I try to randomly find folks playing Armada instead? Should I try both? What is the scoop?

As a side note, I was wondering how many folks here play prophecy online or Armada in multiplayer, and how could I meet up with a group of folks. I know that there is an IRC channel, but I would feel a little shy just jumping into IRC and asking random folks if they wanted to play a few rounds.

I am not looking for a way to scam my way into playing older games, nor am I trying to avoid paying for Prophecy Gold. I am just sending out feelers to see how large the online community is for this game in multiplayer so I can decide if buying Prophecy Gold is a wise investment. $50 clams is alot of dough to me. :)

Any advise would be welcomed.

Any multiplayer Ming Commander is a good thing in my book.

Regards,

Kai Osprey

First, Welcome to the CIC ChatZone!

WCP MP requires only the original WCP. The scoreboard is here which lists people who have played and had the stats reported to the CIC.