FAQ : Privateer Bootdisk, WCP & Riva TNT, Privateer 2 DOS in Win 9x

Discussion in 'Tech Support' started by Ghost, Jun 4, 2001.

  1. Ghost

    Ghost Emperor

    Messages:
    5,145
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    51,885
    Location:
    Buenos Aires,Argentina
    This is for Admins. specially:

    Why not make a section or page in the CIC with the information on how to make a boot disk to play the old WC games, like Privateer, WC1,WC2 (DOS), and how to play with out the CD,etc. So it will be more easy to the people who have problem in making the bootdisk. I know everyone has a diferent computer but the skeleton autoexec and config is the same to all.

    [Edited by Ghost on 06-04-2001 at 22:59]
     
  2. KrisV

    KrisV Administrator

    Messages:
    3,430
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    36,885
    Location:
    The Reid System
    Last edited: May 24, 2018
  3. Ghost

    Ghost Emperor

    Messages:
    5,145
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    51,885
    Location:
    Buenos Aires,Argentina
    How To play Privateer with out the CD:

    Copy the Priv.tre and RF.tre to your Privateer directory, then edit the Priv.cfg and Rf.cfg with the new path for the *.tre files.



    How to play WC2 with out the CD:

    Copy the Wing2 directory of the CD, to any directory (i.e C:\wing2), then in DOS or Windows, select the directory with the right button of the mosue, then in properties unmark the read-only option.now Install.bat (i.e C:\wing2\install.bat) from DOS and configure at your pleasure.


    Bootdisk to play Privateer or other DOS game

    This work for me and others here:
    Config.sys

    devicehigh=himem.sys
    devicehigh=emm386.exe ram 16384 i=b000-b7ff
    dos=high,umb
    fileshigh=30
    buffershigh=30
    devicehigh=vide-cdd.sys /d:mscd001 (is my CD-rom driver, replace with yours )


    Autoexec.bat
    loadhigh=mscdex /d:mscd001
    loadhigh=a:\PCIAUD\SETAUDIO ( this is my Sound card Driver replace with yours)
    SET BLASTER=A220 I5 D1 H5 T4
    Loadhigh=mouse.exe


    If you have the *Mouse error, not found* In WCP:

    Download the last driver of your mouse.

    [Edited by Ghost on 06-06-2001 at 00:07]
     
  4. Ghost

    Ghost Emperor

    Messages:
    5,145
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    51,885
    Location:
    Buenos Aires,Argentina
    This is a FAQ ( ;) ) made by me some time ago.
    If any admin want to stick first in technical support.
     
  5. Ghost

    Ghost Emperor

    Messages:
    5,145
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    51,885
    Location:
    Buenos Aires,Argentina
    WCP Problems

    *If you have problems with the movies (i.e. skipping movies)*
    Try disabling the sound aceleration in DirectX sound section

    *If you have a TNT2 chipset card, and WCP looks with lines*

    Go to TNT2 section in display properties and set (in more D3D) texel alignement fuul to the left (7)
     
  6. Johnl12

    Johnl12 Repairman

    Messages:
    1,000
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, Ca. USA. Silicon Valley
    Installing Privateer 2 DOS version to work in Win9x DOS box.

    First for this to work you must have SB Emulation installed.
    If you haven't already done so download the P2 patch: https://www.wcnews.com/files.shtml#wcpriv2. This patch will only work for the DOS version of P2.

    Do not let the game install via the Auto-play feature. Explore the CD and right click on the "install.exe" file. Choose Properties, then the Program tab > Advanced button. Make sure that only the "Prevent MS-DOS-based programs from detecting Windows" box is check. Now double click on the "install.exe" to install the game. The P2 configuration screen should load. Configure everything as normal. Uses P2's auto-detect program to configure your Sound Card and Music Card settings. When the installation has completed, copy the P2 patch to the C:\DARK directory and retract it.

    To install the patch file run the "Patch.bat" file. Once that is done right click one the "dark.exe" choose "Copy", next right click on the Desktop and choose "Paste Shortcut". Now right click shortcut icon you had just created and like before choose Properties, then the Program tab > Advanced button. Make sure that only the "Prevent MS-DOS-based programs from detecting Windows" box is check. You can now play P2 in windows by using this icon.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 24, 2018
  7. faust

    faust Spaceman

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    LA
  8. Ghost

    Ghost Emperor

    Messages:
    5,145
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    51,885
    Location:
    Buenos Aires,Argentina
  9. RiotAct218

    RiotAct218 Spaceman

    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    What is all this JEMM business anyway? You'd think that these great new computers would be created to have the ability to also play old games! Oh I remember good old Privateer, back in the day.....
     
  10. Wedge009

    Wedge009 Rogue Leader

    Messages:
    10,102
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    69,385
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    JEMM is the custom memory manager used in Privateer and Armada, and is completely incompatible with Windows. And new computers often have a very hard time playing old games.
     
  11. Dalewayward

    Dalewayward Guest

    Help

    I am trying to get privater to run but it is complaining about protected mode driver is not responding to ems funstion calls. Can you help?
     
  12. Dalewayward

    Dalewayward Guest

    Oops

    I for got to say I am running windows xp
     
  13. overmortal

    overmortal Bearded Person

    Messages:
    2,395
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36,885
    Location:
    Middle of nowhere, NC, USA
    Format your harddrive and install win 98. Then, hunt down the "Dos mode for EMS support" and you'll have no problems.
     
  14. SoulSkorpion

    SoulSkorpion Spaceman

    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Looks promising, but when I boot off the disk it can't find my hard disk. If I tell it I want to use the CD drive, it assigns the CD to c: and still can't find the hard disk. Any help?
     
  15. cff

    cff Kilk'dymga'qith laq Ik'vikvi

    Messages:
    2,841
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    36,885
    Location:
    Austria
    You need a FAT HD. NTFS won't work.
     
  16. SoulSkorpion

    SoulSkorpion Spaceman

    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    I see. Is there any way to set this up without reformatting, or a way to work around it, or any other painless fix?
     
  17. Kazan

    Kazan Swabbie
    Banned

    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, Iowa, United States
    SoulSkorpion get Partition Magic 8
     
  18. cff

    cff Kilk'dymga'qith laq Ik'vikvi

    Messages:
    2,841
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    36,885
    Location:
    Austria
    In the end Partition Magic doesn't do anthing else then formatting your HD of course. It just keeps your data (at least it should).
    As for possibilities with NTFS. You might want to try stuff like "NTFS Reader for DOS"
    http://www.ntfs.com/products.htm
    However I did always only see READERS. As in read only, no writing possible. Haven't got any practical experiance in any of them in any case.
    Hmm - this one should do writing also?
    http://www.sysinternals.com/ntw2k/freeware/ntfsdospro.shtml
     
  19. Unregistered

    Unregistered Guest

    I've got Privateer and RF to play on an NTFS drive in WinXP with full sound and everything using DOSBox v0.61. It's a great DOS emulator that works really well for old games. I've been replaying the Crusader duo with no problems so far, and Priv works just fine after a little tweaking. Get it here:

    http://dosbox.sourceforge.net/news.php?show_news=1

    There's plenty of help in their forums too for how to set it up and play old games on new systems. . .

    good luck!

    -drew-
     
  20. Kristian

    Kristian Guest

    CD change in P2

    Hi, I'm running Privateer 2 with the Dos to Windows patch and so far so good, but when it comes to changing to cd2 I can't seem to progress. Does anybody know a simple way to get around this? I am assuming the game is simply looking in the wrong place or something.

    Cheers guys


    Kristian
     

Share This Page