Wing Commander Redux

jerid13

Spaceman
I'd like to remake Wing Commander I with a new engine and graphics. 3D all the way. I'm a graphic artist and 3D modeler and would like to lead this project. I've even begun concept art for ships and locations. Anyone who's interested, drop a line here...

alright... let's here some name suggestions for a remake of Wing Commander I. (i'm havin' trouble thinking of one:rolleyes: )

Yeah, but it kinda dead. HCl and a few others (including me) were working on it a while back... but it got cancelled because, well, IMHO I think there wasn't such a big point in doing it. WC1 and WC2 are great the way they are, and a mod in a new engine wouldn't feel the same.

Besides, HCl is the most capable WC editing guy and he was doing most of the mission building while he could work on enhancing the already existing games, witch is much more exciting.

But the work done on this project wasn't in vain, as a few models from it were used in UE.

Ok, just to be clear... I LOVE the original WC. I hold a very secret and sacred place in my heart for it.

What I'm proposing is a "re-envision" of the game. The concept drawings I'm working on will show this. Of course you'll fly the Hornet or the Rapier, just don't be surprised if they look a little different!

I'm not trying to make the game "better". I'd just like to see an update that I can play on XP.

I'll post some of the concept art soon. That should get peoples attention...:)

Hi jerid13,

Wing Commander 1 has a special place in my heart too. So much so that I'm currently working on a total conversion of Wing Commander 1 to the Freespace 2 engine. So far I've modelled all the Kilrathi and Confed fighters, plus the Tiger's Claw, and I've imported them into a mission. Plus I've put in a bit of the music...

Check it out:

http://www.pegasus3d.com/phpbb2/viewtopic.php?t=2408