Wing Commander Rebellion - Prologue

Primarch

Spaceman
I thought I'd get the ball rolling again with my first piece of Fanfiction. This is the background story to a set of missions I'm currently working on.

--------------------------

WING COMMANDER - REBELLION

PROLOGUE

I don't know when it started exactly, probably because there was no single person or incident responsible. Still, looking back, I suppose it could be narrowed down to a few instances that in hindsight could have easily been avoided or stopped; unfortunately, hindsight only happens after the fact.
One of those instances that comes to my mind, which again in hindsight was probably the most important, was in the year 2681. I remember that year well for many different reasons. It was the year I graduated the Academy, the year I first set foot on the Midway, the year that I flew my first real mission and the year that I first encountered the Nephilim.
I remember that particular encounter and the resulting confrontation well; my baptism by fire, so to speak. But still, compared to the years that followed, I would have been glad to be doing something as simple as killing bugs again. It has often crossed my mind if they would ever come back and to be perfectly honest with you, I wished on more than one occasion that they had. It would have made things simpler. However, they didn't and as a result I find myself in this unenviable position.
As I said, 2681 was the year that things first came out into the open. The cracks were already there if you looked hard enough, but nobody did, at least not until it was too late. I recall somebody telling me once that if history has taught us one thing, it is that we never truly learn from our mistakes. This was one of those mistakes...

Lieutenant General Maxwell Garret
Commander 29th Tactical Fighter Group, TCS Missouri CVX-32
Excerpt from personnel log, 2714.193

BABEL SYSTEM
CHALLENGER QUADRANT
AVALON SECTOR
0137 CST