We come in peace at Goteborg’s Symphony Orchestra

Lilja

Ensign
So on the evening 12th of January 2017, I went to the Goteborg’s Symphony Orchestra to see the production ’we come in peace’.

I am a music lover, and although I respect classical music, it is not what I would normally choose to listen to.

I have never written a review before and I really don’t know how to right one. The entire concert lasted for a little over two hours, so there is a lot to cover, so I apologise if this gets rather long.

Orvar Säfström was the presenter and one of the producers, they has a very good reputation within Sweden and has put together many productions based around ‘pop culture’. They have produced several productions based around gaming , films and science fiction. They introduced every piece and I got the impression that science fiction and gaming is a genre that they themselves enjoys and wanted to put together something that was both respectful and enjoyable.

The orchestra and conductor are also very respected and have very good reputations. I am proud to say that they are my distant colleagues, as we all work for the local government. Unfortunately I really can’t say much more about them, this being the first time that I have listen to them.

I created a youtube play list that generally covers the concert, it can be found here : https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLDSnb0e-nTMEMTWD4ub6ITS5SZkH2LB6F

So I’ll start at the beginning and talk about each piece in turn.

Introduction to Also Sprach Zarathustra by Strauss, famously known from 2001 : A Space Odyssey. There is truly no better piece to begin with, it served as a great powerful introduction.