WCSO Difficulty Settings

MajiK6pt5

Spaceman
Hey all, I'm new to WC (just downloaded WC Secret Ops yesterday).

I'm testing different settings to see what level to play at, and I tried changing the difficulty levels just to find out that they aren't very different. At the hardest level, it's still almost as easy as the easiest level. The only thing that seems to have changed is that ships seem to fire more missiles at you...except that this is done when they're coming head on, and you can just shoot the missiles!

I just want to know what's different about the difficulty settings...

Thanks,
MajiK6pt5

Like you said, ships fire missiles at you, meanwhile at the easiest seting they don't fire any missiles. The enemy ships are harder to destroy (fighters require more gun shots/missiles, heavier capships require 2+ torps to destroy each component instead of one), the stats of their ships are increased by 20% (or at least that's how it's done in Prophecy), more fighters will attack you at one time....

Thanks for replying (I hoped someone would reply today).

Damn...that sucks. I was hoping that the AI got better. Heh...kinda stupid, eh? There should be more games where the computer doesn't "cheat" but instead the AI gets better at the higher difficulty levels.

I've just played a couple missions with the highest difficulty level, and got killed 2 times. I guess it is quite a bit harder, but it's not nearly as hard as it should be...I mean I'm sure that a lot of people fly better than I do...

I guess I'll play at the hardest, then...cause if the hardest is only that hard, then the easier ones would be a waste of time (although it would be fun!). I guess it makes up for the crappy AI...I mean most of the fighters just zig-zag back and forth instead of turning around on you, and they let you turn around on them...so they're pretty stupid...the only time I'm vulnerable is when I'm after someone and 2 or 3 guys shoot missiles up my ass.