WC2 freezes in DBX 0.65

Don

Rear Admiral
My panicky role forced me to open this thread and report this problem too soon though I hope its just minor. And I have looked through other threads for this kind of problem...well a bit.

I just started playing Wing Commander 2 and got it to work in DosBOX 0.65 inc. sound which plays fine. Played the first level without any problems then played the next level - where you have to defend the Concordia for the second time. Upon destroying all the fighters the game just freezes completley forcing me to restart. I assumed this was a one-off glitch so i played the same level and again (after destroying the fighter) it froze. Repeating this a few times only made me assume the worst that it was a major problem.

However I managed to play the game without DosBOX and it worked fine (though no sound and difference to the graphics engine - no video intercom and no hand-on-yoke-thing) without any major or minor glitches and i managed to get through the levels this time (got up to destroying a task force near Olympus Station). Though from where I finished I played the game again in DosBOX and after autopiloting to the next nav...it FROZE!!! :(

I was just wondering if this was a common problem that can be resolved or not, but I do hope to get this sorted completley. Thanks.

Yeah, definitely sounds like leaving off the loadfix command. https://www.wcnews.com/news/update/6042

Additionally, some games may need an additional entry to execute. Privateer and Armada run well with "loadfix -65" typed before the game's main executable (for example "loadfix -65 armada"). The -65 is optional and variable, but we've had best luck with that value. Wing Commander 2 will also probably require "loadfix -32 WC2" to avoid some freezing a couple missions into the game.

Last edited by a moderator: