North Korea

-danr-

Vice Admiral
Hope this subject isn't too contraversial for the CIC boards, but since we seem to have a lot of historians in here, I wanted to know how you guys felt about the escalating tensions with P'yong'yang that seem to be all over the news today.

Personally I think it's time for more dialogue, at least let try to talk a while longer before considering anything heavier. Despite the nuclear test and rocket trials, I'm not sure that N. Korea could really strike Seoul with an atomic weapon just yet.

I'm a nuclear physicist - so I'm not sure about the capabilities in terms of rocket strikes, though North Korea has done tests in the past I believe. I can't say I'm terribly worried, the weapons seem to be of the 10Kton range so similar to that used in Hiroshima and Nagasaki, now that doesnt mean that the weapon is inneffective - far from it! but it is orders of magnitude below the weapons that most of the nuclear powers would consider to be a basic one.

The real risk here is that North Korea is silly enough to use it on South Korea (not impossible) and that they use it as a dirty bomb - so using the nuclear elements to irradiate the city rather than simply destroy it.

That said, North Korea has concluded more successful tests than the US did prior to the attack on Japan - and they have far more advanced missiles and planes than the US did at the time.

Personally I think it's time for more dialogue, at least let try to talk a while longer before considering anything heavier.

This is great idea. It worked so successfully before in North Korea (the talks got them to completely stop making nuclear material and never make it again!) and Iran (They to have renounced all nuclear material and throw their equipment into the sea!).

History has proven the only way to stop the development of nuclear weapons is with MILITARY FORCE. It's just shameful we don't have a President intelligent enough to realize this and do something about it.