Engine

Needaham45

Spaceman
As we all know, there are problems with the WCSO engine that UE had to deal with, adn it looks like UE2 would have to deal with. I have no knowledge of programming and the like, but I figured I'd start a thread where serious ideas about how to improve the engine could be posted and considered. Of course, this needs to be reasonable - dont' say something that it's quite obvious we won't be able to do (like add fog, or eliminate the space dust being on top of things making it seem like the ships are transparent. Again - I don't know about programming, so that may be possilbe - but from what I understand, it's extremely difficult)

To start off, I'd like to say that the biggest possibly correctable problems are that we can't cloak, we reached the limit of splash screens (to display passwords - this is a real problem for UE2 if we do the fiction the same way, there will be more missions, therefore more passwords), and I think if we could, it would be best to set the game to calculate how guns are fired to WC4-like parameters. For example, crosslinking 4 guns should take for times the energy to fire a volley, not 4 times the refire delay between vollies. Any ideas on ways to correct this stuff? Or do people have other things that it may be a good idea to try to correct? Again - please keep it reasonable. Remember, we are dealing with limited numbers of people, limited resources, and no source code.

Well without the source code we won't be able to do any major changes. There are however relatively simple solutions to some of the mentioned topics: