Armada

Hello there...
Is it just me or is the armada engine the most impressive of all the WC series? Maybe I'm just old fashioned, and maybe it's just the strange beverage that I hold in my hand talking... but in my opinion it is unparallelled as of yet. The newer WC games are lost on me, and I find myself stuck back in the good old days. I am hoping to make a game with the flight engine based in Armada... here's the thing; I am not a programmer nor a graphic artist LOL, just a lowly writer with an impressive WC story to tell. If this peaks anyone's interest or anybody has advice on this topic, a reply would be greatly appreciated.

Similar idea to the hi-res versions of SO. That would be a nice thing to have. I wonder how HCl did it. There may be some difficulty with cockpits etc though.

Doesn't armada have that feature where you can get rid of the cockpit and see only the instruments, like the WCP HUD? Because I believe what HCl did with the cockpits in the SO patches was simply change the absolute position of each display on-screen... so theoretically, the same could be done to Armada if a hi-res patch was made... but the cockpit graphics themselves might have to be re-scaled or done away with, perhaps.

--Eder

I love cockpits too. I think that the WCP/SO HUDs, and, especially, the WC4 HUD, hurt the atmosphere of the games and the overall experience of feeling like "you're there".

--Eder

I'm sure there would be some way to save the cockpits, hell, if we could get H.E day to do them they'll end up looking better than the originals! i reckon an upgrade would be a great idea.

Originally posted by Eder