A new Sci-Fi tabletop RPG

Richard H

1st Lieutenant
Hey all, I just wanted to put in a shameless plug for a project I've been working on for the last two years: SCRIOS is tabletop RPG, that I'm distributing free as a PDF at SCRIOS.com and on the iBookstore for iPad. SCRIOS focuses on 3D space combat in single-seat spaceships, utilizing 20-sided dice on a hex map to help show "height", and simple-to-use game aids to avoid a lot of pythagorean math. SCRIOS aims to take a more "theatrical" approach to RPGs, trying to keep the mechanics very approachable in an old-school fashion.

In addition to the free rules, SCRIOS also has optional 3D-printed full color miniatures from Sculpteo, with modular bases designed to hold the 20-sided dice. Using Sculpteo's customization interface, purchasers can custom-color the models to their preference before purchasing.

img_0901.jpg

I was a wingnut from way back: I remember my dad bringing home WC on CD from a computer trade show when I was in 6 or 7th grade. I ate up everything I could, the special ops, secret missions, Armada, Academy, I even had the Origin Screen Saver (for DOS. I mean, WHY?!? But I had Kamekhs floating across my screen, so I was happy to part with the ~$25). I blew my entire Senior Year summer pay check on a Thrustmaster HOTAS setup and the WC3 Special Edition in the film tin. I cried when Hobbes betrayed me (Although, it was 5AM and I'd been playing since the mailman had dropped it off.).