wing commander 3 control issue

Jdawg

Commodore
I just started playing wc3 again and I map the arrow keys to my controller, all works well except the down key, the ship wont move that direction after a point, has anyone else ever experienced that problem, whats strange is that it works fin when I run the simulator it only happens during missions

I haven't experienced this, but then I almost always just map the joystick axis to the left stick. Is there a reason you are mapping the keyboard controls instead of joystick to the pad?

yes bc in wc3 and wc4 I have always had bad deadzone issues and with the keyboard mapping it helps a lot, still dont get the precision I really want but its a good 85 percent effective, like I said when I run the simulator it works good, and in some missions it works, but then others it does not. its not the controller bc when I actually used the keyboard the same things happened, whats strange is you can see blair grabbing the stick in the game but it just wont move after a certain pt, it seems to be the worst in the hellcat.

still having problem with all ships except the arrow. the controls for the arrow ship work great but in every other ship at a certain point the down arrow key stops moving the ship its the strangest thing I have ever seen

The only thing I can think of is maybe it's some kind of overflow error where the gamepad is trying to register more key hits than the game or dosbox can handle. Does your gamepad come with custom mapping software? Are you using that software or the built in mapping in dosbox? What happens when you try flying with just straight keyboard instead of the gamepad? Does the error still happen when using an actual keyboard?