The basic rules mention collision possibility between ships in the same hex, am I missing where that exists later in the manual or is that not yet written?
Here's what's in the manual on the subject:
Page 2, final sentence: When playing with the basic rules, more than one unit can occupy a hex without risking a collision.
Top of the right hand side of Page 5: Collisions do not occur, except when playing with the advanced Collision rules (which are, again, not covered in the basic rules).
...and the advanced rules as they currently are don't cover ship-to-ship collision possibilities. They cover collisions with asteroids, but not other ships.
Reply, hmm, another flak on-fire-no-damage issue. By my reading of the rules, Snarl should have taken a chance at being hit by flak. I'll have to look into that.
Page 6: Flak Cannons are anti-fighter weapons which cannot be used against other capships. Target a Flak Cannon at a specific hex and place a Flak marker on it: Every unit moving to or through that hex without Phase Shields will take 10 points of damage if you equal or exceed its respective Target Roll
(see below; roll once and compare to the Target Roll of all units in that hex). Bear in mind that a Flak Cannon does not distinguish between ally or enemy! All Flak markers are removed after the next turn’s Movement Phase.
This one we might need to get clarification on. The way I read it, Snarl should be immune from that particular burst of flak because he was already on the targeted hex (i.e. he wasn't moving to or through the hex, he was already there). That ain't a realistic interpretation by any means, but...